Arizona is the sixth largest state in the US, it is ranked after New Mexico and before Nevada. It is one of the best places to start life afresh due to its job opportunities and quality of educational and health sectors.
Arizona is a place that has something for everyone, from its natural beauty displayed at national parks to major metropolitan areas.
Your idea of fun in Arizona could be shopping in downtown Phoenix, camping in the desert, and cheering in the sun.
Regardless of your idea of fun, it would help if you had car insurance to protect you as you drive the roads of Arizona to your fun places.
Arizona Car Insurance Laws
Every state has its laws regarding car insurance, Arizona car insurance laws require all drivers to register their vehicles.
All registered vehicles must have car insurance policies attached. Drivers who have insufficient funds for full coverage can at least meet the minimum liability coverage limits.
Drivers who do not keep to these laws will be penalized for it.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arizona
The minimum car requirement for drivers in Arizona is the type of car insurance policy that all drivers must have and be able to submit upon request.
Below are the insurance coverage types that are considered a minimum requirement:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
This coverage type provides financial protection to drivers when they cause an accident where a person is injured.
They help pay the medical bills of the person who happens to be the victim of an accident you caused. If the person decides to sue you, they can also pay for the legal fees.
This situation is a regular occurrence in Arizona and thus this insurance coverage type is mandatory with $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Property Damage Liability Coverage
This coverage type provides financial protection to drivers when they cause an accident where other people’s property and vehicles are damaged.
They help to pay for the repair or replacement bills of the person whose property was damaged. Property here could mean a house, fence, vehicle, mailbox, etc.
This situation is typical in Arizona and as a result, this coverage type is mandatory with $15,000 property per accident.
Optional Car Coverage type in Arizona
The optional car insurance types are not mandated by the Arzona law, and you will not be penalized for not having them. However, you may need them in some circumstances; below are some of them:
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
This insurance type helps to pay your medical bills and other related expenses in the event you are hit by a driver who has little or no coverage.
Arizona law does not require this coverage; however, it can help when you are in an accident with hit-and-run drivers.
This insurance type helps to pay for vehicle repair or replacement bills if your vehicle collides with another vehicle, an object, a tree, or a guardrail.
It is not required by law; thus, drivers are not mandated to purchase them; however, it can help to handle repair and replacement bills when there is an accident.
This insurance type helps to pay for vehicle replacement and repair bills in the event your vehicle is damaged by vandalism or a natural disaster such as flood, fire, hail, falling branches, or contact with animals.
It is not required by law, but drivers are advised to purchase it in case of unforeseen circumstances.
Other Additional Coverage Options in Arizona
Additional coverage options in Arizona could be of huge help to drivers. However, they are not mandatory, nor do they cost much to purchase; below are a few:
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
- Towing & Reimbursement Coverage
- Medical Payment Coverage
- Auto Protection Plan
- Roadside Assistance
What are the Penalties for Breaking Arizona Driving Laws?
The Arizona Driving laws have penalties if broken. Below is a breakdown of the penalties for breaking Several Laws:
Not Meeting Minimum Car Insurance Requirement:
If you are a first-time offender, you will face a minimum fine of $500 and suspension of your license and registration.
At subsequent offences, your suspension time and fine amount will be increased.
Driving with a Suspended License in Arizona
This is a class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 6 months in jail as well as potential vehicle impoundment.
Can I Find Cheap Car Insurance in Arizona?
The price of car insurance is relative as it depends on many factors. Below are some factors that can affect the practice you get to pay for insurance:
- The type of coverage you choose
- The year, model, and make of your vehicle
- Where you drive and where you live
- Tur driving record
- Your credit history
In What Situation Should I Be Required to Fulfill SR-22 Requirements?
Drivers may be required to fulfill SR-22 requirements when caught committing serious driving violations.
You may be required to fulfill SR-22 requirements if you have been convicted of a DUI/DWI or caught not maintaining proper liability coverage.