Car Insurance in South Carolina – Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in South Carolina

South Carolina is a state in the US with its capital in Columbia, and it is the 40th largest and 23rd most populous state in the US. South Carolina has beautiful beaches and open-air markets, making it a home to several tourists who would usually want to drive around the state.

Car Insurance in South Carolina: Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in South Carolina

However, in South Carolina, it is illegal to drive without insurance. If you are caught without proof of insurance, your driving license may be suspended alongside attracting heavy fines.

Whether you live along the Atlantic coast or in Columbia, you must meet the minimum car insurance requirements of South Carolina.

This article will direct you on how to get your car insurance in South Carolina.

South Carolina Car Insurance Laws

All states have their own insurance laws, and South Carolina is no different. South Carolina laws require that all drivers have proof of financial responsibility in the form of a car insurance policy that meets the state’s requirements

South Carolina State Requirements

The minimum car insurance requirements demanded by South Carolina are listed below:

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

This car insurance is required by law, it provides South Carolina drivers with financial protection if they cause an accident that results in bodily injuries to another person.

It can go further to help pay for their medical expenses and, if necessary, legal services. It usually costs about $25,000 bodily injury per person and $50,000 bodily injury per accident.

Property Damage Liability Coverage

This Car insurance is required by South Carolina law and provides South Carolina drivers with financial assistance to replace or repair property damaged in an accident due to their driving.

This type of insurance involves damage to another vehicle, most importantly, the car damaged in the accident, not a house, fence or mailbox.

It usually costs about $25,000 in property damage per accident.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

The South Carolina law requires uninsured motorist coverage and helps drivers pay for medical bills and related expenses if the driver has no coverage.

Uninsured motorist coverage usually costs $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.

Property damage for uninsured coverage in South Carolina is $25,000 and comes with a $200 deductible.

The underinsured motorist coverage

The underinsured motorist coverage is not required by South Carolina law, but it helps pay for medical and property damage expenses.

This happens when the other driver in an accident scene cannot be identified or has little or no insurance coverage.

Collison Coverage

This car insurance is not required by South Carolina law; it helps to repair vehicles when there is a collision, regardless of who is at fault.

The collision could be with a car, a tree, an object, or another car.

Comprehensive Coverage

This car insurance isn’t required by South Carolina law, it simply helps to replace or repair a damaged vehicle when it is done by nature or as a result of vandalism.

Some Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance In South Carolina

South Carolina drivers must be able to present proof of insurance upon request, as there are several penalties for driving without car insurance in South Carolina. Below are some of them:

  • Series of high and increasing fines
  • Possibility of jail sentences
  • Suspended license
  • Other severe penalties

Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in South Carolina

The best way to find out the cheapest car insurance rates in South Carolina is by going car insurance shopping and comparing quotes from several companies.

However, from research, below are some of the cheapest rates in South Carolina:

  • Geico with an overall rating of 9.1
  • USAA with an overall rating of 9.2
  • Progressive with an overall rate of 9.0
  • Nationwide, with an overall rate of 9.1

There are other fantastic insurance companies in South Carolina. The above companies offer some of the most affordable rates in the state.


Is it Illegal to not have car insurance in South Carolina?

Yes, it is illegal not to have car insurance in South Carolina. If caught driving without insurance, you would have broken the law and been found guilty.

The South Carolina DMV will get your license suspended for a start, and then you must pay a $600 uninsured motorist fee.

Furthermore, you will have to get an insurer to file a certificate of insurance three years after your license is suspended.

Why is South Carolina Car Insurance Expensive?

Car insurance is expensive in South Carolina because about 11% of drivers are uninsured in the state, affecting insurance prices.

South Carolina also has weather conditions that could put drivers at risk, such as hail and high winds. This can also influence the price of car insurance as it tends to fluctuate based on extreme weather.

How do I get Cheap Car Insurance in South Carolina?

Getting cheap car insurance in South Carolina depends on certain factors:

  • Your choice of coverage
  • The make, model, and year of your vehicle
  • Where you live and drive
  • How much you drive
  • Your demographics
  • Your credit history
  • Also, your driving records

Check Out:

Previous articleFarm Jobs in USA With Visa Sponsorship – Apply Now
Next articleCar Insurance in Houston – Cheapest Car Insurance Company in Houston


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here