Utah is a state in the western part of the US. They are populated with over three million people and are referred to as the 30th most populated state. They have several beautiful cities, including Salt Lake City, Park City, St George, Ogden, Provo, Logan, and many others.
Before you hit the road in Utah, ensure you have the required car insurance in your vehicle to protect yourself financially in the case of an accident.
As you enjoy the natural beauty and rugged and diverse geographical features of Utah, ensure your vehicle is well covered with insurance.
The importance of car insurance cannot be overemphasized. It is essential for drivers; however, finding cheap car insurance in Utah is not always easy.
The best way to find cheap car insurance is to compare rates from several car insurance companies. Comparing quotes in Utah is relatively easy to do.
Utah Car Insurance Requirements
Drivers in Utah must have car insurance and carry it around when driving as proof of financial responsibility and also to present it to law enforcement officers upon request.
The following are the car insurance policies required by Utah Law:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
This coverage type provides financial leverage when there is an accident. It assists in paying for all of the medical expenses of injured persons in the accident.
It also helps with the payment of legal services if the situation warrants it. This coverage type is required by Utah law at $25,000 per bodily injury per person and $65,000 per bodily Injury per accident.
Property Damage Liability Coverage
This coverage helps repair and replace other personal properties damaged in an accident you caused.
It is strictly to pay for damage to vehicles and not to pay for damage to houses, fences, and other kinds of repairs. It is required by Utah law and costs $15,000 for property damage per accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
This coverage helps provide financial protection for injuries in the event of an accident. It is required by the Utah Law and costs $3,000 personal injury per accident.
This coverage type helps victims who drivers hit without car insurance. It is required by Utah law and costs $25,000 per person and #65,000 per accident.
This coverage type helps victims who were hit by drivers with very few insurance policies the Utah law requires it and costs $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident.
Utah requires drivers to have the above coverage types as a minimum requirement to drive around Utah and must be presented upon request.
Drivers who do not care for PIP or uninsured/underinsured coverage can choose to reject them in writing.
They can also choose to add the collision and comprehensive coverage that helps to provide repair and replacement deals when there is damage as a result of collision or natural disasters.
Drivers who can afford more insurance which is more than the minimum requirement can buy additional coverage types to have full insurance coverage.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Utah
In Utah, you have a good chance of finding amazing car insurance rates because their rates are slightly cheaper than the national average.
Car Insurance rates in Utah are not excessively high, they are relatively affordable to drivers in Utah. However below are some of the cheapest car insurance companies in Utah.
Geico is approximately the cheapest car insurance company in Utah. They have 16 discounts available for drivers with a coverage rate of 8.4 and an overall rating of 9.1.
USAA is the second cheapest car insurance company in Utah. They have 10 discounts available for drivers with a coverage rating of 9.5 and an overall rating of 9.2.
Auto-owners Insurance is a cheap car insurance company in Utah. They have 13 discounts available for drivers with a coverage rating of 9.4 and an overall rating of 8.9.
State Farm Insurance is an affordable car insurance company in Utah. They have 12 discounts available for drivers with a coverage rating of 9.2 and an overall rating of 9.4.
Progressive Insurance Company is the most affordable insurance company in Utah. They have 13 discounts available for drivers with a coverage rating of 9.5 and an overall rating of 9.0.
What Happens When I Drive Without Car Insurance in Utah?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Utah. It means you have broken the law and you will have to face the consequences.
The consequences include a fine of $400 for the first offense and $1000 for the second and subsequent offenses. A suspension of vehicle registration and a $100 reinstatement fee as well as suspension of driver’s license until fees are paid.
Is Utah a No-Fault State?
Yes, Utah is a no-fault state that allows your insurer to pay for the damage to your vehicle when there is an accident irrespective of who is at fault.
However, Utah mandates all drivers to have personal injury protection coverage because if you get involved in an accident, your insurer will pay for the damages even if you were not at fault.