Car Insurance in Oklahoma

Oklahoma is a state in the United States usually called the Salt Plains. It is perfect for a weekend exploring as it is usually filled with lots of fun places to go. However, you should not go to these places without car insurance.

Car Insurance in Oklahoma

Car insurance can protect you and your family from financial stress in case there is an accident during your adventure time in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Car Insurance Laws

The state of Oklahoma requires all drivers to register their vehicles and also maintain continuous liability insurance for the vehicles registered.

Drivers must have insurance coverage or at least meet the minimum liability coverage limits as required in the state.

Oklahoma Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state has minimum requirements that all drivers must meet. All drivers in Oklahoma need these insurance policies to make driving on the streets legal.

Below are examples of the coverage types required by law in the state of Oklahoma:

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

This coverage type provides financial protection when there is an accident. It helps to pay for all of the medical expenses of injured persons in the accident.

It also helps with the payment of legal services if the situation warrants it. This coverage type is required by law at $25,000 per bodily injury per person and $50,000 per bodily Injury per accident.

Property Damage Liability Coverage

This coverage helps provide repair and replacement to other personal properties that were damaged in an accident you caused.

It is strictly for damage to vehicles and not to pay for houses, fence, and other kind of repairs. It is required by Oklahoma law to cost $25,000 property damage per accident.

Coverage Types that are necessary but not required in Oklahoma

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

This coverage type provides the medical bills for drivers involved in an accident with drivers with little or no insurance coverage.

This coverage type is not required by law, and drivers in Oklahoma can drive without it and not be held accountable.

Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay)

This coverage type helps to provide medical and other related expenses that stem from an accident, regardless of who caused it.

This coverage type is not required by law, and drivers in Oklahoma are not obligated to purchase this type of insurance.

Collision Coverage

This coverage type helps to provide replacement and repair expenses to damaged cars in the event of collisions with objects or other vehicles irrespective of who is at fault.

Oklahoma law does not require This type of insurance; therefore, drivers are not obligated to own them. However, they are advised to have them in case of a collision to avoid paying for repairs from their pocket.

Comprehensive Coverage

This coverage type helps to provide replacement and repair services to damaged vehicles if they are damaged by natural disasters such as floods, fire, and hail.

It also covers costs in case of vandalism or damage from animals. This coverage type is not required by Oklahoma law, and drivers are not obligated to purchase them.

They are, however, advised to purchase them to avoid being sued or paying for damages from their pockets in the case of such events.

FAQs

What Happens When I Don’t Meet the Oklahoma Minimum Requirement?

If you were caught driving in Oklahoma without insurance and not even having the bare minimum requirement, you would have broken the law.

Breaking the law means you face the penalties: your license and vehicle registration will risk being suspended while you may be given a heavy fine of $330 or thirty days in jail.

In What Circumstances Do I Provide My Insurance?

Under Oklahoma law, drivers must provide proof of financial responsibility in several circumstances. Below are some of them:

  • You must provide your proof of insurance at the request of any law enforcement officer at any time.

It could be at an accident scene or a traffic stop. Provide your proof of insurance upon being asked.

  • You must provide proof of insurance when registering your vehicle or renewing your registration.
  • You must provide your proof of insurance whenever you obtain a driver’s license.

What is the cost of car insurance in Oklahoma?

The cost of car insurance usually depends on several factors and cannot entirely be fixed. However, you can save your money in Oklahoma because they allow you to pay for the insurance policy you need alone.

Check Out:

Key Factors Affecting Your Car Insurance Rates

Car Accident Without Insurance

Car Insurance Agents: Types of Car Insurance Agents

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here