Car Insurance in Vermont – Cheap Car Insurance Companies in Vermont

Vermont is located in the New England region of the northeastern United States; it is known for quality skiing, open-minded culture, and scenic rolling mountains.

Car Insurance in Vermont: Cheap Car Insurance Companies in Vermont

If you want to drive around the state, please feel free to buy car insurance to serve as financial protection in case of an accident.

Car Insurance Laws in Vermont

Drivers in Vermont are required to have car insurance. It is illegal to drive a vehicle if insurance policies do not cover it.

Vermont requires drivers to have at least a minimum amount of insurance, the minimum car insurance liability.

Persons with the minimum car insurance, also known as financial responsibility insurance, can operate and drive any vehicle in Vermont.

If the policy expires, Vermont drivers are to renew or buy a new policy and not drive around with expired insurance, as this would mean they have broken the law.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

As stated earlier, Vermont drivers must have insurance policies on their registered vehicles. However, they can purchase at least the minimum if they cannot afford the necessary coverage types.

The Vermont states mandate the coverage types listed below, and drivers without them will be penalized. However, if the car is lent or leased, the lender may require other types of coverage for protection.

Below are the minimum car insurance requirements Vermont drivers are mandated to have:

Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

This coverage type is responsible for the medical bills of victims of an accident you caused.

It goes to 25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident; officers can require it.

Property Damage Liability Insurance

This coverage type is the response for the repair and replacement bills of vehicles, objects, and building damage in an accident you caused. It goes for 10,000 for property damage per accident.

It is mandatory and is usually required by officers in Vermont.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

This coverage is responsible for paying for bodily injury and repair/replacement bills when there is an accident caused by drivers who have no insurance companies to take care of the bills.

They have little or no insurance policies and are sometimes referred to as hit-and-run drivers; this coverage is required by Vermont law.

This coverage type costs $50,000 for bodily injury per person, $100,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident.

Cheap Car Insurance Companies in Vermont

Car insurance rates in Vermont are relatively cheap because cheap depends on many factors such as your car make, your coverage type, driving history, and others.

For the sake of this article, below are the cheapest car insurance companies. However, these rates are solely for good drivers who have zero faults in their driving and have not violated any law:

Geico: at $660 annually

USAA: at $677 annually

Nationwide: at #796 annually

State Farm: at $819 annually

It is important to take note that USAA is only available to members of the veterans, military, and their families.


What do I Need to get Car Insurance in Vermont?

To get car insurance in Vermont, you will need the following information:

  • The make of your vehicle
  • The model of your car
  • The VIN of your car
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Your SSN
  • Your bank information
  • Your address

The information may vary according to the insurance company; do well to make the necessary inquiries before you proceed.

Are there any Strategies to Lower my Car Insurance?

Lowering your car insurance rates can be done with certain strategies. Below are some of them:

  • Ensure you ask for quotes from several insurance companies before making your choice
  • If you are working with an agent, ensure you apply all possible discount rates.
  • If you are a good driver, make use of your company’s telematics to get discounts.
  • Take a defensive driving course

What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Proof of Insurance?

If you are found driving without proof of insurance in Vermont, you will be penalized in the following ways:

  • Suspension of license
  • Potential filing of an SR-22 certificates
  • A fine of not more than $500

What are the Other Optional Coverage Types I Can Purchase?

Apart from the minimum requirement Vermont demands from you. There are several additional coverages you can buy; below are some of them:

  • Roadside assistance
  • Rental car reimbursement
  • Medical payment
  • Loan/lease payoff
  • Collision
  • comprehensive

Check Out:

Previous articleProfessional Liability Insurance for Therapists: Factors to Consider When Choosing One
Next articleKemper Car Insurance – How to Get Kemper Insurance Quotes


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here