Arkansas is the 29th largest and 34th most popular state in the US; it is best known for its extreme weather, hot springs, lakes, rivers, frequent storms, and the only active mine in the US. Arkansas is a fantastic place; however, driving in Arkansas has different rules.
The Arkansas law requires that all drivers carry adequate insurance coverage while driving through Arkansas.
The law makes it mandatory to drive with car insurance because it offers financial protection in the event you are involved in an accident.
All registered cars in Arkansas must have car insurance; drivers who cannot afford whole coverage policies can opt for getting the minimum car insurance bodily injury property damage coverage.
Arkansas Driving Laws
Every state has unique laws, and Arkansas is not left out of them. In Arkansas, the law requires all drivers to carry car insurance.
Drivers are required to carry insurance and have recently purchased one, not suspended or expired car insurance.
Failure to adhere to the law will lead to penalties and consequences; moving around Arkansas with the minimum requirement is best.
Arkansas Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
As earlier stated, drivers in Arkansas must move around with at least the minimum car insurance requirement. The requirements are explained below:
Bodily Injury Liability
The bodily injury liability coverage type is a requirement by Arkansas law. It pays a $25,000 limit per person and a $50,000 limit per accident.
This coverage helps to settle expenses related to another driver or a pedestrian injured in an accident you caused.
Property Damage Liability
The property damage liability coverage type is a requirement by Arkansas law. It pays a $25,000 limit.
It focuses on paying for the damages and expenses incurred on other people’s vehicles and homes due to an accident you caused.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage Types in Arkansas
Other insurance coverages are perfect and unique; they protect you from many unforeseen circumstances. However, they are not required by Arkansas law.
You will not be required to submit them to any official because you are not obligated to have them. Below are some of them:
Uninsured motorist coverage
This insurance type helps cover the medical expenses that stem from an accident where the other driver is at fault and has no experience and no insurance to pay the bills.
This coverage is not required by law. However, it is advisable to have it in the event of being hit by an uninsured driver.
Underinsured motorist coverage
This insurance type helps to cover the medical expenses that stem from an accident where the other driver is at fault and does not have enough insurance to suit the bills.
This coverage is not required by Arkansas law, but it is advisable to have it in the event of being by an underinsured driver.
This coverage type helps cover the expenses for repairing and replacing damaged vehicles when collision accidents occur.
It is not required by law but advisable to prevent paying out of your pocket if an accident involves collisions.
This coverage is also not required by the law; however, it is essential as it helps cover the expenses for repairing and replacing cars in cases of damage from natural disasters and vandalism.
Other Optional Insurance Coverage Types in Arkansas
Other coverage types in Arkansas are not mandatory and hardly used. Below are some of them listed:
- Rental reimbursement coverage
- Ride for hire
- Roadside coverage
Cheap Car Insurance Coverage in Arkansas
Car insurance companies in Arkansas do not precisely cost a fortune. Below are the cheapest car insurance coverage in Arkansas:
- USAA with $228 estimated annual cost and $19 estimated monthly cost
- Southern Farm Bureau Insurance Company with an estimated annual cost of $307 and $26 estimated monthly cost
- State Farm with $307 estimated annual cost and $29 estimated monthly cost
- Alfa Insurance with $347estimated annual cost and $29 estimated monthly cost
- Auto-Owners Insurance with $395 estimated annual cost and estimated $33 monthly estimated cost
- Progressive with a $432 estimated annual cost and estimated monthly cost of $36
Is There a Penalty for Driving without Car Insurance in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, you must have car insurance and drive around with it in a situation where law officials request it.
For the car insurance, you must have at least the minimum requirement. Driving without it will attract a fine as that becomes illegal.
The first offence will be between $50 and $250; on the second offence, the fine will be between $250 and $500. And on the third offence, the fine will be between $500 and $1000/ a jail sentence or one year.
What Can Affect My Insurance Rates?
Several factors can affect your car insurance rates. Below are a few:
- Your type of car: expensive car leads to expensive rates
- your driving habits: good driving habits lead to low rates
- demographic factors
- personal factors
- coverage type